UNIVERSITY OF HOHENHEIM

Research facility and network management

The University of Hohenheim plays a dual role at CANNABIS-NET: on the one hand, it is responsible for network management thanks to many years of research expertise in the field of crop plants and experience as a member of several ZIM networks. On the other hand, it implements research projects initiated by network partners with its research teams and thus significantly shapes the innovative strength of the network.

20160412_Aussen_15_edited.jpg

TRADITIONAL RESEARCH

The University of Hohenheim is an innovative, research-intensive university in the south of Stuttgart. Founded in 1818 after devastating famines, the University of Hohenheim always feels committed to the tradition of developing innovative solutions to pressing social issues. Research and teaching focus on complex biological and economic systems.

2017_TdOT_731_edited.jpg

ESTABLISHED AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES

The focus of training in agricultural sciences developed early on at the University of Hohenheim - today the university in Germany is No. 1 in the fields of agricultural research and food sciences. Well-founded basic research combined with responsible and future-oriented applied science characterize the mission statement of the university. This can make significant contributions to pressing global and regional challenges in the areas of agro-ecosystems and biodiversity, food security and health.

19%20Hanfpflanzen_015_edited.jpg

COMPETENCIES FOR CANNABIS RESEARCH

CANNABIS-NET is located at the University's Institute of Crop Science. As part of the research activities there, the researchers have extensive expertise in agricultural crops, including in the fields of optimizing cultivation, raw material quality, food safety, processing plants and innovative, sustainable land use systems. Yield, yield components, quality-relevant and valuable ingredients are then examined for research.

We are working on genetics that can be established in the field in the Central European climate. To do this, we need to find out how different genetics react to environmental factors, solar radiation, irrigation, fertilization, etc.

Prof. Dr. Simone Graeff-Hönninger, University of Hohenheim

©2019 CANNABIS-NET

UNIVERSITÄT HOHENHEIM

Forschungseinrichtung und Netzwerkmanagement

Die Universität Hohenheim nimmt bei CANNABIS-NET eine Doppelrolle ein: Durch langjährige Forschungsexpertise im Bereich der Kulturpflanzen sowie der Erfahrung als Mitglied mehrerer ZIM-Netzwerke verantwortet sie einerseits das Netzwerkmanagement. Andererseits setzt sie Forschungsprojekte, die von Netzwerkpartnern initiiert werden, mit ihren Forschungsteams um und prägt damit die Innovationskraft des Netzwerks wesentlich.

20160412_Aussen_15_edited.jpg

TRADITIONSREICHE FORSCHUNG

Die Universität Hohenheim ist eine innovative, forschungsintensive Universität im Süden Stuttgarts. Gegründet 1818 nach verheerenden Hungersnöten fühlt sich die Universität Hohenheim immer auch der Tradition verpflichtet, innovative Lösungen auf drängende gesellschaftliche Fragen zu entwickeln. Im Fokus von Forschung und Lehre stehen komplexe biologische und ökonomische Systeme.

2017_TdOT_731_edited.jpg

ETABLIERTE AGRARWISSENSCHAFTEN

Schon früh formte sich an der Universität Hohenheim der Ausbildungsschwerpunkt der Agrarwissenschaften - heute ist die Hochschule Deutschlands Nr. 1 in den Bereichen Agrarforschung und Food Sciences. Fundierte Grundlagenforschung kombiniert mit einer verantwortungsvollen und zukunfsorientierten angewandten Wissenschaft kennzeichnen das Leitbild der Universität. Dadurch können wesentliche Beiträge zu drängenden globalen und regionalen Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Agrarökosysteme und Biodiversität, Ernährungssicherung und Gesundheit geleistet werden.

19%20Hanfpflanzen_015_edited.jpg

KOMPETENZEN FÜR CANNABIS-FORSCHUNG

CANNABIS-NET ist am Institut für Kulturpflanzenwissenschaften der Universität angesiedelt. Im Rahmen der dortigen Forschungsaktivitäten verfügen die Forscher*innen über umfangreiche Kompetenzen mit landwirtschaftlichen Kulturpflanzen, u.a. auf den Gebieten der Optimierung des Anbaus, der Rohstoffqualität, der Lebensmittelsicherheit, der Verarbeitung der Pflanzen sowie innovativer, nachhaltiger Landnutzungssysteme. Für die Forschung werden dann Ertrag, Ertragskomponenten  qualitätsrelevante und wertgebende Inhaltsstoffe untersucht.

Wir arbeiten an Genetiken, die man im mitteleuropäischen Klima auf dem Feld etablieren kann. Dazu müssen wir herausfinden, wie verschiedene Genetiken auf Umweltfaktoren, Sonneneinstrahlung, Bewässerung, Düngung usw. reagieren.

Prof. Dr. Simone Graeff-Hönninger, Universität Hohenheim

©2019 CANNABIS-NET