top of page

RESEARCH PROJECTS

In order to meet the given requirements of a standardized cannabis production in Germany, German industry and research organizations need to network with experienced partners in this field to close existing knowledge gaps.
Through innovative research projects, we are helping to lay the foundations for a dedicated cannabis production chain in Germany.

19 Hanfpflanzen_012.jpg

NEW ACTIVE INGREDIENT MIXTURE OF PURIFIED CANNABIS PLANT INGREDIENTS FOR THE PRODUCTION OF A DOSING AEROSOL AS AN ALTERNATIVE TO THE VAPORIZER (TECVAP)

The project's overall objective is to determine whether different compound profiles of cannabinoids and terpenes from C. sativa have different effects. This will derive initial statements on the optimal dosage concentration (Pharmbiocon). This optimized composition of active ingredients is to serve as the basis for an inhalable cannabis drug for the treatment of acute pain and spastic cramps, which is characterized by its rapid onset and short duration of action. Delivery forms such as metered dose inhalers, powder inhalers, or ultrasonic nebulizers, which are smaller and simpler than vaporizers are planned. A bioassay will be used to prove the physiological effectiveness of the active ingredient components in vitro (BioTeSys). At the end of the project, a process should be established that combined with defined raw material production (University of Hohenheim), can supply material with characterized cannabinoid and terpene profiles in sufficient quantity and pharmaceutical quality for preclinical studies. 

DEVELOPMENT OF SUBFLOOR IRRIGATION WITH NANO FERTILIZERS INCLUDING STRESS CONTROL KIT FOR GREENHOUSE AND OUTDOOR TUNNEL CANNABIS CULTIVATION (WATER)

The overarching goal of the WATER project is to develop a resource-efficient, standardized, and resilient complete system consisting of high-yielding and cannabinoid-rich genetics (including autoflowering varieties), ecotube subfloor irrigation, nano-fertilization, and stress kit. This complete system enables cannabis cultivation in controlled greenhouse environments, outdoor polytunnels, and pots for home cultivation. ecotube Germany is developing a subfloor irrigation system that meets varying, genetics-specific water and nutrient requirements and includes the possibility of aerating the root zone. B+H Solutions is developing a fertilization concept based on nanometals, while BexBioTec is developing a Cannabis Stress Test Kit consisting of antigen rapid tests and sampling kits to assess the plant's stress condition. The University of Hohenheim is developing greenhouse and outdoor tunnel cultivation systems using ecotube subfloor irrigation and nano-fertilizers and elucidating the relationships between genetics, yield, and constituents.

MULTIPURPOSE PLANT HEMP: EXTRACTION OF BIOMASS, LIGNIN AND PLATFORM CHEMICALS FOR THE PRODUCTION OF BIOPOLYMER MATERIALS (MULTIHEMP)

Hemp is a prime example of a "multipurpose plant" and is ideally suited for a sustainable circular economy in the context of the bioeconomy due to its versatility and the possibility of using the whole plant (grains, leaves, flowers, stems, roots). Hemp has been cultivated for centuries in Germany for fibre, food, oil production and as a medicinal product. Interest in hemp for a range of industrial applications has increased in recent years due to the superior quality of its fibres in a number of industrial applications. In addition to fibre, hemp also provides high quality seeds and phytocannabinoids with developing markets for oils and vegetable proteins. These processes generate a number of by-products that have not been recycled to date.

Aim of MULTIHEMP is to use hemp and by-products of hemp fibre production as feedstock in the context of a biorefinery. The project goal includes an agricultural biorefinery that converts locally produced biomass into platform chemicals, lignin, cellulose, phytocannabinoids, oils and proteins, demonstrating the full-scale use of the hemp plant. Hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF), furfural (Fu) and lignin can be produced from the lignocellulose-rich material obtained. HMF can be used to produce polyesters such as PEF (polyethylene dicarboxyfuranoate) for packaging or fibres. HMF itself, like Fu, can serve as a substitute for formaldehyde in resins, e.g. for chipboard, polyamides such as nylon 6 and nylon 6,6, or as an additive in the food and pharmaceutical industries. Lignin can be added to resins as a filler material, or can be split into phenols to become components of resins themselves. Another application is the conversion into high-quality carbon materials for electrodes and supercapacitors. The processes for the processing and extraction of cellulose lignin using microwave technology and the extraction of platform chemicals using biorefinery, including the necessary analytical methods, are to be developed and optimised. The platform chemicals obtained will be used to develop and produce thermoplastic biopolymers, which will be further developed into fibre-reinforced/fibre-based materials. From these biopolymer materials, new biobased, degradable materials can be obtained for various end applications. For this purpose, the processing data and parameters for the production of the new materials are recorded and used for process optimisation. The industrial upscaling of the developed methods and materials can be demonstrated by the participating companies as well as by the pilot plant available at the University of Hohenheim. It is expected that the developed materials will show a significantly improved ecological footprint compared to conventional materials, as regional raw materials and by-products from hemp are obtained and used.

DEVELOPMENT OF A MODULAR MICROWAVE SYSTEM FOR THE DISTILLATION, EXTRACTION, AND ISOLATION OF DIFFERENT ACTIVE INGREDIENTS FROM CANNABIS (MYCAN)

Within the MYCAN project, the development of a Microwave System (MLS) for the modular distillation, extraction, and isolation of various flavors and active compounds from cannabis, including analytical validation of the extracts, extraction processes, and isolation of individual substances (University of Hohenheim), is aimed for. The individual steps are intended to be realized in one device, into which different modules for extracting various substances can be inserted and controlled. The method can be applied to all plants containing essential oils and non-volatile ingredients. New, modified devices and additives are required for the necessary preparations to facilitate a smooth transition of the processes. Control of the process parameters must be developed and validated for this purpose. Furthermore, chemical syntheses under various conditions will subsequently be developed using microwave technology. 

SCHNITZEL, HEMP TOFU, PASTA & CO FROM THE REALLAB HEMP - PROTEIN-BASED FOOD FROM REGIONAL HEMP CULTIVATION (TASTINO)

The increasing world population and urbanization as well as the growing income level lead to an increasing global demand for meat and animal food. However, current dietary habits are considered unhealthy and production patterns unsustainable. A global dietary shift with an increase in the intake of plant-based foods instead of animal-based foods is seen as key to improving human as well as planetary health. The overall goal of TASTINO is to develop innovative processes and technologies for the production of protein-rich, healthy foods from regionally grown hemp. As part of this project, innovative foods based on hemp protein will be developed in collaboration with farmers, regional processors, representatives of the catering industry and food retailers (LEH) in Baden-Württemberg and made available to end consumers as regional products in the retail sector. The market for meat substitute products is still relatively small, but will grow strongly in the future. Europe leads the meat substitute products market globally, with a 40% share of the total market, which is forecast to reach €2.4 billion by 2025. While tofu, tempeh, seitan textured vegetable proteins are typical meat substitute products on the market, hemp protein is characterized by a desirable, chewy, meat-like texture. Hemp proteins are several types of proteins found in the hemp plant that have a high biological value and are composed of 23 essential amino acids. Unlike meat-substitutes made from imported soybeans, hemp protein-based meat-substitutes allow the sustainable benefits of plant-based products to be fully realized. Therefore, TASTINO contributes to meeting the strong demand for high-quality, protein-based, regionally produced food, developing sustainable nutrition concepts, increasing the self-sufficiency of the population in Baden-Württemberg, and creating sustainable jobs in the field of agriculture and food production along the value chain in various sectors.

DEVELOPMENT OF A TOPICALLY APPLICABLE CREAM FOR THE SKIN DISEASE ROSACEA BASED ON THE INGREDIENTS OF PHYTOCANNABINOID-RICH CANNABIS (RECREATE)

Rosacea is a multifactorial disease. The concrete causes are still being discussed. Among other things, neurogenic inflammations and inflammatory reactions caused by bacteria and hair follicle mites on the skin can be considered. Currently available drugs cannot completely cure the disease. CBD and all other phytocannabinoids, especially CBC, CBD-V, THC-V, and CBG, have a significant anti-inflammatory effect, which has already been proven in several scientific studies. The entourage effect is even more substantial in the extract's terpenes and flavonoids present in the whole extract. Pain-relieving, antibacterial and antimicrobial properties are also confirmed. 
The project's overall objective is to develop a topically applicable cream against the skin disease rosacea, which is based on the ingredients of phytocannabinoid-rich cannabis (PCR). For this purpose, it is necessary, on the one hand, to convert the ingredients into an activated form by decarboxylation and, on the other hand, to obtain the other highly volatile, temperature-sensitive ingredients such as terpenes during the preparation of the plant material both during drying and from extraction. The concentrations and composition of active substance spectra required for efficacy must be developed and tested in cell indication models. This will involve feedback on the drying and extraction processes and the development of the appropriate process required. 

DEVELOPING LIGHTENING CONCEPTS AND LOW STRESS TRAINING (LST) METHODS FOR TO GROW TERPENE AND CANNABINOID RICH CANNABIS FOR ACTIVE PHARMACEUTICAL INGREDIENTS (DELIGHT)

Plant based pharmaceuticals have been consumed as fresh, dried or processed plants. The end result is a plant derived or synthetically produced active ingredient for curing ailments. The quality and stability of these active ingredients is critical for correct and safe dosage of the medicine. This is a challenge as plants are impacted strongly by their growing environment. This project focuses on improving the use of cannabis as a plant raw material for high-end pharmaceutical products. The technical challenges to be solved are related to the light spectrum (the colour of light), light distribution, longevity, stability of light was well as to finding cannabis varieties, which yield a high level of the desired active ingredients for the pharmaceutical end product

The aim of the project is to develop an LST (low stress training) method that increases the terpene level in the plant material while at the same a high CBD content is ensured.

DEVELOPMENT OF INNOVATIVE GROWING MEDIA; PHYTOMONITORING SENSOR SYSTEMS (SOIL-PLANT) AND A PROCESS-BASED PLANT GROWTH MODEL TO CONTROL THE GROWTH AND YIELD IN CANNABIS (PHYTOSENS)

An important goal in cannabis cultivation is, in addition to high yields, to generate uniform plants of appropriate pharmaceutical quality. As with all biological systems, the characteristic expression (phenotype) and thus the quality characteristics of the plant depend, besides the genotype factor, on environmental parameters. Essential environmental factors, that influence plant growth, are: light quantity, light quality, duration of illumination (photoperiod), growing medium, supply of water and nutrients, CO2 concentration in the air, temperature and humidity. Up to now, these influences have been controlled independently of each other and are based on the experience of the producers, which does not immediately ensure consistent, standardized quality from batch to batch. In order to meet the legal requirements in cannabis production, producers must design their production systems in such a way that the production of a standardized raw material can be guaranteed through the use of appropriate technologies and processes.

The aim of the present project is to develop a process using innovative substrate and phytomonitoring technology, which enables the necessary holistic control of the growth of cannabis under controlled conditions to obtain a standardized raw material for medical end products. The chosen approach for the necessary control of the growth and development conditions focuses on the best possible water and nutrient supply and, consequently, on the highest possible automation of these relevant input factors for the growth of cannabis. This includes the development of innovative growing media for cannabis, which are adapted to the varying requirements of the plant in the different stages of development. At the same time, a plant-soil monitoring unit is to be developed that monitors the current state of the plant at all times, from which recommendations for action for the producer can be derived with regard to the adaptation of environmental factors. The data obtained are used to create a process-oriented plant growth model for cannabis, which can describe and predict the reaction of the plant to changed environmental parameters.

DEVELOPMENT OF A SELECTION SCHEME FOR MEDICAL CANNABIS BASED ON THE ENTOURAGE EFFECT (SELWAK)

Cannabis sativa L. is one of the oldest crops used as fiber, nutrition and as therapeutic and recreational drug. Cannabis is known for its psychoactive compound THC, but therapeutic potential of medical cannabis (THC < 0.2%) is much more diverse due to non-psychoactive compounds such as cannabinoids, terpenes and flavonoids. The term ‘entourage effect’ refers to the therapeutic effect due to the interaction of these substances, which act synergistically instead of a single compound.

This project aims to develop and optimize a selection scheme for the selection of genotypes based on the entourage effect for the treatment of insomnia, depression, anorexia and muscle pain. Currently, breeding schemes in medical Cannabis research are mostly focused on selection of individual cannabinoids. However, the combination of different compounds for final medical efficacy can lead to unique outcomes. The breeding lines selected in relation to entourage effect of medical Cannabis are currently unexplored, furthermore there are limited studies available about the application of entourage effect in neuropathic diseases.

DEVELOPMENT OF AN INDOOR-CROPPING SYSTEM AND A NANOFORMULATION FOR A CANNABIS GENOTYP (GENCAN)

In Germany, up to 5% of the population suffers from neuropathic pain. Neuropathic pain is conventionally treated with the use of antidepressants and anticonvulsants. In this sense, Cannabis Sativa L. could be used as an effective alternative for patients with neuropathic pain. However, cannabis pharmaceuticals for the indication of neuropathic pain is still not approved in Germany. Thus, in order to generate the raw material necessary for the medicament development, it is paramount to further understand the causal relationships between a plant genetic and an indoor cultivation system to achieve the required CBD-rich raw material output. Hereby, it is among others, necessary to standardize the fluctuating content of the main active components of the cannabis plant (THC, CBD) and other cannabinoids in the genetics available to date, and to clarify the interactions between genetics and environmental factors with regard to cannabinoid levels.

THC-FREE EXTRACTION AND PRODUCTION OF WATER-SOLUBLE HEMP EXTRACTS

 

Cannabinoids such as CBD (cannabidiol) harbor enormous potential not only in medicine, but also in the food, cosmetics and wellness sectors. There is already a lot of interest in adding cannabinoid extracts to a number of food products such as beverages, coffee, high protein products and chocolate. So far, the instability of CBD and other cannabinoids in these food matrices has been one of the greatest challenges for industrial (further) processing. By developing ready-to-use formulations that are a) stable and b) free of THC, Becanex aims to become the main supplier of cannabinoid extracts for the food industry.

Becanex (Berlin Cannabis Extraction) is a high-tech food startup that specializes in the extraction of cannabinoids and other phytochemicals from industrial hemp. The company produces high-quality CBD extracts and develops products in the food and cosmetics sectors for its customers. The basis for this is the specially developed and patented one-step extraction process. This is particularly gentle, which means that far more of the valuable ingredients are retained than with conventional processes.

In the near future, Becanex would like to significantly expand the market potential of its products. In order to achieve this, the company will develop product formulations for the food industry that remain stable in a wide range of common processing methods. Becanex will also ensure that these formulations are THC free. To this end, a method for the selective removal of THC from the hemp extract will be developed. With the approval of the ZIM funding, the company plans to complete the development by the end of 2022. In addition, Becanex is open to collaborations with other companies to develop new products.

bottom of page

FORSCHUNGSPROJEKTE

​Um den gegebenen Anforderungen einer standardisierten Cannabisproduktion in Deutschland gerecht zu werden, müssen sich deutsche Industrie und Forschungsorganisationen mit erfahrenen Partnern in diesem Bereich vernetzen, um bestehende Wissenslücken zu schließen.

Durch  innovative Forschungsprojekt tragen wir dazu bei, die Grundlagen einer eigenen Cannabis-Produktionskette in Deutschland zu schaffen.

19 Hanfpflanzen_012.jpg

MULTIPURPOSE-PFLANZE HANF: GEWINNUNG VON BIOMASSE, LIGNIN UND PLATTFORMCHEMIKALIEN ZUR HERSTELLUNG BIOPOLYMERER WERKSTOFFE (MULTIHEMP)

Hanf ist ein Paradebeispiel für eine „Multipurpose-Pflanzen“ und eignet sich aufgrund seiner Vielseitigkeit und der Möglichkeit, die ganze Pflanze (Körner, Blätter, Blüten, Stängel, Wurzel) zu nutzen, hervorragend für eine nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft im Kontext der Bioökonomie. Hanf wurde jahrhundertelang in Deutschland zur Faser-, Nahrungsmittel-, Ölgewinnung sowie als Medizinprodukt kultiviert. Das Interesse an Hanf für eine Reihe von industriellen Anwendungen hat in den letzten Jahren aufgrund der überlegenen Qualität seiner Fasern in einer Reihe von industriellen Anwendungen zugenommen. Zusätzlich zu den Fasern liefert Hanf auch hochwertige Samen und Phytocannabinoide mit sich entwickelnden Märkten für Öle und pflanzliche Proteine. Im Rahmen dieser Prozesse fallen eine Reihe von Nebenprodukten an, die bislang keiner Verwertung zugeführt werden.

Ziel von MULTIHEMP ist, Hanf und Nebenprodukte der Hanf-Faser-Herstellung als Ausgangsmaterial im Kontext einer Bioraffinerie zu nutzen. Das Projektziel beinhaltet eine landwirtschaftliche Bioraffinerie, die lokal erzeugte Biomasse in Plattformchemikalien, Lignin, Cellulose, Phytocannabinoide, Öle und Proteine umwandelt und somit die vollumfängliche Nutzung der Hanfpflanze demonstriert. Aus dem gewonnenen lignozellulosereichem Material können Hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF), Furfural (Fu) und Lignin erzeugt werden. Aus HMF können Polyester wie PEF (Polyethylendicarboxyfuranoat) für Verpackungen oder Fasern hergestellt werden. HMF selbst kann, wie auch Fu, als Ersatz für Formaldehyd in Harzen, z.B. für Spanplatten, Polyamide wie Nylon 6 und Nylon 6,6, oder als Zusatz in der Nahrungsmittel- und Pharmaindustrie dienen. Lignin kann als Füllmaterial zu Harzen zugesetzt werden, oder zu Phenolen gespalten werden, um damit selbst zu Bestandteilen von Harzen werden. Eine andere Anwendung ist die Umwandlung zu hochwertigen Kohlenstoffmaterialien für Elektroden und Superkondensatoren. Über die Einbindung zweier mittelständiger Unternehmen sollen hierbei die Prozesse zur Bearbeitung und Gewinnung von Cellulose Lignin mittels Mikrowellen-Technik sowie die Gewinnung von Plattformchemikalien mittels Bioraffinerie einschließlich der notwendigen analytischen Methoden entwickelt und optimiert werden. Aus den gewonnenen Plattformchemikalien erfolgt die Entwicklung und Erzeugung thermoplastischer Biopolymere, die zu faserverstärkten/ faserbasierten Werkstoffen weiterentwickelt werden. Aus diesen biopolymeren Werkstoffen können denen neue biobasierte, abbaubare Materialien für unterschiedliche Endanwendungen gewonnen werden. Hierzu werden die Verarbeitungsdaten und Parameter zur Herstellung der neuen Werkstoffe erfasst und zur Prozessoptimierung herangezogen. Das industrielle Upscaling der entwickelten Methoden und Werkstoffe kann durch die beteiligten Unternehmen sowie durch die an der Universität Hohenheim vorhandene Technikumsanlage aufgezeigt werden. Es wird erwartet, dass die entwickelten Materialien einen deutlich verbesserten ökologischen Fußabdruck gegenüber herkömmlichen Werkstoffen aufzeigen, da regionale Rohstoffe und Nebenprodukte aus Hanf gewonnen und verwendet werden.

SCHNITZEL, HANFTOFU, PASTA & CO AUS DEM REALLABOR HANF - PROTEINBASIERTE LEBENSMITTEL AUS REGIONALEM HANFANBAU (TASTINO)

Die steigende Weltbevölkerung, Urbanisierung sowie das wachsende Einkommensniveau führen zu einer steigenden globalen Nachfrage nach Fleisch und tierischen Lebensmitteln. Allerdings werden die derzeit üblichen Ernährungsgewohnheiten als nicht gesund und die Produktionsmuster als nicht nachhaltig angesehen. Eine globale Ernährungsumstellung mit einer Steigerung der Aufnahme pflanzlicher Lebensmittel anstelle von tierischen wird als Schlüssel zur Verbesserung der menschlichen sowie der planetaren Gesundheit angesehen. Übergeordnetes Gesamtziel des Projektes ist die Entwicklung innovativer Verfahren und Technologien für die Produktion proteinreicher, gesunder Lebensmittel aus regional angebautem Hanf. Im Rahmen des Projektes werden in Zusammenarbeit mit Landwirten, regionalen Verarbeitern, Vertretern der Gastronomie und des Lebensmitteleinzelhandels (LEH) in Baden-Württemberg innovative Lebensmittel auf Basis von Hanfprotein entwickelt und als regionale Produkte im Einzelhandel für den Endverbraucher verfügbar gemacht. Der Markt für Fleischersatzprodukte ist noch relativ klein, wird aber in Zukunft stark wachsen. Europa führt den Markt für Fleischersatzprodukte weltweit an, mit einem Anteil von 40 % am Gesamtmarkt, der Prognosen zufolge im Jahr 2025 2,4 Mrd. € erreichen wird. Während Tofu, Tempeh, Seitan texturierte pflanzliche Proteine als typische Fleischersatzprodukte auf dem Markt sind, zeichnet sich Hanfprotein durch eine wünschenswerte, zähe, fleischähnliche Textur aus. Als Hanfproteine werden mehrere Proteintypen bezeichnet, die in der Hanfpflanze vorkommen, eine hohe biologische Wertigkeit aufweisen und aus 23 essentiellen Aminosäuren aufgebaut sind. Im Gegensatz zu Fleischersatzprodukten aus importierten Sojabohnen ermöglichen Fleischersatzprodukte auf Hanfproteinbasis die nachhaltigen Vorteile von Produkten auf Pflanzenbasis vollständig zu nutzen. Das Projekt trägt daher dazu bei, die starke Nachfrage nach hochwertigen, protein-basierten, regional erzeugten Lebensmitteln zu erfüllen, nachhaltige Ernährungskonzepte zu entwickeln, die Selbstversorgungsfähigkeit der Bevölkerung in Baden-Württemberg zu steigern und im Bereich Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelerzeugung entlang der Wertschöpfungskette in verschiedenen Sektoren zukunftsfähige Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen.

ENTWICKLUNG EINER CANNABINOID-REICHEN ROSAZEA CREME-FORMULIERUNG BASIEREND AUF ZELLINDIKATIONSMODELLEN SOWIE EINES TROCKNERBASIERTEN DECARBOXYLIERUNGSVERFAHRENS ZUR GEWINNUNG STANDARDISIERTER CANNABISROHSTOFFE (RECREATE)

Rosazea ist eine multifaktorielle Krankheit. Über die konkreten Ursachen wird bislang noch diskutiert. In Betracht kommen unter anderem neurogene Entzündungen und Entzündungsreaktionen durch auf der Haut vorkommende Bakterien und Haarbalgmilben. Die Erkrankung ist durch momentan verfügbare Medikamente nicht vollständig heilbar. CBD sowie sämtlichen anderen Phytocannabinoiden insbesondere auch CBC, CBD-V, THC-V und CBG wird eine große antiinflammatorische Wirkung nachgesagt die bereits in einigen wissenschaftlichen Studien belegt ist. Ebenso werden schmerzlindernde, antibakterielle und antimikrobielle Eigenschaften bestätigt. Durch die im Vollextrakt vorhandenen Terpenen und Flavonoiden tritt durch den Entourage Effekt eine nochmals verstärkte Wirkung auf. 

Oberstes Gesamtziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung einer topisch anwendbaren Creme gegen die Hauterkrankung Rosazea, welche auf den Inhaltsstoffen von phytocannabinoidreichem Cannabis (PCR) basiert. Hierzu ist es erforderlich einerseits die Inhaltstoffe in eine aktivierte Form durch Decarboxylierung zu überführen sowie die weiteren leicht flüchtigen, temperatursensitiven Inhaltsstoffe wie Terpene bei der Aufbereitung des Pflanzenmaterials sowohl während der Trocknung als aus Extraktion zu erhalten. Die für die Wirksamkeit erforderlichen Konzentrationen und Zusammensetzung an Wirkstoffspektren müssen in Zellindikationsmodellen entwickelt und geprüft werden. Hierbei erfolgt eine Rückkopplung zu den Trocknungs- und Extraktionsverfahren und eine Entwicklung des entsprechenden erforderlichen Verfahrens. 

ENTWICKLUNG VON LICHTKONZEPTEN UND LOW-STRESS-TRAINING (LST) METHODEN ZUM ANBAU VON TERPEN- UND CANNABINOIDREICHEM CANNABIS FÜR PHARMAZEUTISCHE WIRKSTOFFE (DELIGHT)

Pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe auf pflanzlicher Basis wurden bisher als frische, getrocknete oder verarbeitete Pflanzen konsumiert. Das Endergebnis ist ein aus Pflanzen gewonnener oder synthetisch hergestellter Wirkstoff zur Heilung von Krankheiten. Die Qualität und Stabilität dieser Wirkstoffe ist entscheidend für die korrekte und sichere Dosierung des Medikaments. Dies ist eine Herausforderung, da die Pflanzen stark von ihrer Wachstumsumgebung beeinflusst werden. Dieses Projekt konzentriert sich auf die Verbesserung der Verwendung von Cannabis als pflanzliches Rohmaterial für hochwertige pharmazeutische Produkte. Die zu lösenden technischen Herausforderungen beziehen sich auf das Lichtspektrum (die Farbe des Lichts), die Lichtverteilung, die Langlebigkeit, die Stabilität des Lichts sowie darauf, Cannabissorten zu finden, die einen hohen Gehalt an den gewünschten Wirkstoffen für das pharmazeutische Endprodukt liefern:

Ziel des Projektes ist es, eine LST-Methode (Low Stress Training) zu entwickeln, die den Terpengehalt im Pflanzenmaterial erhöht, während gleichzeitig ein hoher CBD-Gehalt gewährleistet wird.

ENTWICKLUNG INNOVATIVER KULTURSUBSTRATE, PHYTOMONITORING-SENSORSYSTEME (BODEN-PFLANZE) SOWIE EINES PROZESS-ORIENTIERTEN PFLANZENWACHSTUMS-MODELLES ZUR STEUERUNG DES WACHSTUMS UND ERTRAGS IN CANNABIS (PHYTOSENS)

Ein wichtiges Ziel beim Cannabisanbau ist es, neben hohen Erträgen, einheitliche Pflanzen mit entsprechender pharmazeutischer Qualität zu generieren. So wie bei allen biologischen Systemen hängen die Merkmalsausprägung (Phänotyp) und somit die Qualitätseigenschaften neben dem Faktor Genotyp vor allem von Umweltparametern ab. Wesentliche Umweltfaktoren, die das Pflanzenwachstum beeinflussen, sind: Lichtquantität, Lichtqualität, Beleuchtungsdauer (Photoperiode), Kultursubstrat, Wasser- und Nährstoffangebot, CO2-Konzentration der Luft, Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit. Die Steuerung dieser Einflüsse erfolgt bislang unabhängig voneinander und basiert auf Erfahrungswerten der Produzenten, was nicht unmittelbar eine gleichbleibende, standardisierte Qualität von Charge zu Charge sicherstellt. Um die gesetzlichen Auflagen in der Cannabisproduktion zu erfüllen, müssen Produzenten ihre Produktionssysteme so gestalten, dass durch den Einsatz entsprechender Technologien und Verfahren die Produktion eines standardisierten Rohstoffs gewährleistet werden kann.

Zielsetzung des vorliegenden Projektes ist es, ein Verfahren unter Verwendung von innovativer Substrat- und Phytomonitoringtechnik zu entwickeln, welches die notwendige ganzheitliche Steuerung des Wachstums von Cannabis unter kontrollierten Bedingungen zur Gewinnung eines standardisierten Rohstoffs für medizinische Endprodukte ermöglicht. Der gewählte Lösungsansatz für die notwendige Steuerung der Wachstums- und Entwicklungsbedingungen fokussiert auf der bestmöglichen Wasser- und Nährstoffversorgung und damit einhergehend auf einer höchstmöglichen Automatisierung dieser relevanten Inputfaktoren für das Wachstum von Cannabis. Dies beinhaltet die Entwicklung innovativer Kultursubstrate für Cannabis, welche an die variierenden Anforderungen der Pflanze in den unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsstadien angepasst werden. Gleichzeitig soll eine Pflanze-Boden Monitoring-Einheit entwickelt werden, die zu jeder Zeit den Ist-Zustand der Pflanze überwacht, woraus sich Handlungsempfehlungen für den Produzenten in Bezug auf die Anpassung der Umweltfaktoren ableiten lassen. Die gewonnenen Daten werden verwendet, um ein prozess-orientiertes Pflanzenwachstumsmodell für Cannabis zu erstellen, welches die Reaktion der Pflanze auf veränderte Umweltparameter beschreiben und vorhersagen kann.

ENTWICKLUNG EINES SELEKTIONSSCHEMA FÜR MEDIZINISCHEN CANNABIS AUF DER GRUNDLAGE DES ENTOURAGE-EFFEKTS (SELWAK)

Cannabis sativa L. ist eine der ältesten Nutzpflanzen, die als Fasern, Nahrungsmittel und Medikamente verwendet wird. Cannabis ist durch das psychoaktiv wirkende THC bekannt. Das therapeutische Potenzial von medizinischem Cannabis (THC < 0,2%) ist jedoch aufgrund von nicht-psychoaktiven Verbindungen wie den Cannabinoiden, Terpenen und Flavonoiden wesentlich vielfältiger. Der Begriff "Entourage-Effekt" bezieht sich auf die therapeutische Wirkung aufgrund der Interaktion dieser Substanzen, die anstelle einer einzelnen Verbindung synergistisch wirken.

Ziel des Projekts ist, die Entwicklung und Optimierung eines Selektionsschemas für die Selektion von Genotypen auf der Grundlage des Entourage-Effekts zur Behandlung von Schlaflosigkeit, Depression, Anorexie und Muskelschmerzen. Gegenwärtig liegt der Fokus des Zuchtprozesses bei medizinischem Cannabis auf der Selektion einzelner Cannabinoide, jedoch kann die Kombination der verschiedenen Verbindungen zu einzigartigen Ergebnissen führen. Die Zuchtlinien, die auf der Grundlage des Entourage-Effekts bei medizinischem Cannabis ausgewählt werden, sind derzeit noch unerforscht. Darüber hinaus gibt es nur wenige Studien über den Entourage-Effekt der oben genannten Krankheiten.

ENTWICKLUNG EINER CANNABIS GENETIK MIT INDOOR-ANBAUSYSTEM UND EINER CANNABIS NANOFORMULIERUNG (GENCAN)

In Deutschland leiden bis zu 5% der Bevölkerung an neuropathischen Schmerzen. Neuropathische Schmerzen werden mit Antidepressiva und Antiepileptika behandelt. Cannabis Sativa L. könnte als wirkungsvolle Alternative bei Patienten mit neuropathischen Schmerzen eingesetzt werden. Ein Cannabismedikament für die Indikation neuropathische Schmerzen ist in Deutschland jedoch nicht zugelassen. Zur Generierung des Rohstoffs für das Medikament ist jedoch die Entwicklung der Wirkzusammenhänge zwischen der Genetik und einem Indoor-Anbausystem zur Erzielung eines CBD-reichen Ausgangsrohstoffs erforderlich. Hierzu ist es u.a. erforderlich die schwankenden Gehalte der Hauptwirkstoffe (THC, CBD) bzw. der weiteren Cannabinoide in den bislang verfügbaren Genetiken zu standardisieren und die Interaktionen zwischen Genetik und Umweltfaktoren im Hinblick auf die Cannabinoidgehalte zu klären.

THC-FREIE EXTRAKTION UND HERSTELLUNG VON WASSERLÖSLICHEN HANFEXTRAKTEN

Cannabinoide wie CBD (Cannabidiol) weisen nicht nur in der Medizin, sondern auch im Lebensmittel-, Kosmetik-, und Wellnessbereich ein enormes Potenzial auf. Bereits heute besteht großes Interesse daran, Cannabinoid-Extrakte einer Reihe von Lebensmittelprodukten wie Getränken, Kaffee, Produkten mit hohem Proteingehalt und Schokolade hinzuzufügen. Bisher ist die Instabilität von CBD und anderer Cannabinoide in diesen Lebensmittelmatrizen eine der größten Herausforderungen für die industrielle (Weiter-)Verarbeitung. Durch die Entwicklung gebrauchsfertiger Formulierungen, die a) stabil und b) frei von THC sind, will Becanex zum Hauptlieferanten für Cannabinoid-Extrakte für die Lebensmittelindustrie werden.

Becanex (Berlin Cannabis Extraction) ist ein High-Tech Food Startup, das sich auf die Extraktion von Cannabinoiden und weiteren Phytochemikalien aus Industriehanf spezialisiert hat. Das Unternehmen produziert hochwertige CBD-Extrakte und entwickelt für seine Kunden Produkte im Lebensmittel und Kosmetikbereich. Basis dafür ist das eigens entwickeltes und patentiertes One-Step-Extraktionsverfahren. Dieses ist besonders schonend, wodurch weitaus mehr der wertvollen Inhaltsstoffe erhalten bleiben als bei herkömmlichen Verfahren.

In naher Zukunft möchte Becanex das Marktpotenzial seiner Produkte erheblich erweitern und dadurch einen enormen Wachstumsschritt realisieren. Dafür wird das Unternehmen für die Lebensmittelindustrie Produktformulierungen entwickeln, die in einer Vielzahl von gängigen Verarbeitungsverfahren stabil bleiben. Weiter wird Becanex sicherstellen, dass diese Formulierungen frei von THC sind. Dazu wird man eine Methode zur selektiven Entfernung von THC aus dem Hanfextrakt entwickeln. Mit der Zusage der ZIM-Förderung plant das Unternehmen die Entwicklung bis Ende 2022 abzuschließen. Darüber hinaus steht Becanex Kooperationen mit anderen Unternehmen zur Entwicklung neuer Produkte offen gegenüber.