THE NETWORK

The aim of CANNABIS-NET is to lay the foundations for
the production of cannabis in Germany in order to meet
domestic needs, but also to expand its export power.
We develop innovative methods and products along
the entire cannabis value chain in cooperation and
individual projects.

CANNABIS GENETICS

CULTIVATION, HARVESTING AND TREATMENT TECHNOLOGIES

EXTRACTION AND ANALYSIS PROCEDURES

FINAL PRODUCTS FROM CANNABIS

OUR APPROACH

RESEARCH POTENTIALS

The cultivation of cannabis has long been prohibited in Germany and in many other European countries. As a result, the medical potential of cannabis has been neglected and not researched for decades. Since legalization in 2017, the demand for cannabis products in Germany has been increasing steadily. CANNABIS-NET makes a sustainable contribution to closing this research gap.

clear%2520glass%2520jar%2520filled%2520with%2520kush_edited_edited.jpg
Pharmacist%20%20in%20aisle%20of%20Pharmacy_edited.jpg

MEDICAL STANDARDS

As a natural product, cannabis is subject to natural fluctuations, i.e. the concentration of the individual active ingredients can vary from plant to plant. However, uniform, high quality is essential for the production of medicinal products with cannabis. Therefore, standardization measures at all stages of production are required, which are based on established guidelines such as GMP (Good Manufacturing Practice). As part of all research and development projects of the network, all pharmaceutical specifications are complied with.

MARKET POWER

In the network, the focus is on the connection of individual partners: the partner companies have access to an exclusive circle of companies that work with medical cannabis. New synergies arise, the exchange is intensified and there are unique opportunities for the joint development of new technologies. In this way, companies can secure a competitive advantage in the rapidly developing market.

18HRCannabis_026_edited_edited.jpg
low-angle%20photography%20of%20metal%20structure_edited.jpg

INTERNATIONAL & SYNERGETIC

The network is made up of German companies that cover the entire cannabis value chain. As an international network, CANNABIS-NET also consists of Canadian companies that benefit from better networking in the German market and the expertise of German companies with regard to existing standards in the medical field. By integrating a country such as Canada, which is a leading country in medical cannabis, a high level of innovation and competence can be ensured in the network.

MAIN FOCUS

BREEDING & CULTIVATION

Due to the decades-long ban on cultivation in Germany, there is hardly any knowledge about growing cannabis outdoors. Factors such as location, variety, geographical origin and the growing conditions in the field influence the cannabinoids it contains. Genetics with high phytocannabinoid contents do not yet exist and must be established through targeted breeding. Installation conditions must also be optimized, e.g. also in the form of lighting systems for indoor use.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING & HARVESTING TECHNOLOGY

The previously customary harvesting methods by hand are too time-consuming and costly for large-scale field cultivation. In addition, there is still no comprehensive measurement method available for medicinal hemp, for which quality-related properties such as the phytocannabinoid content have to be checked during harvest. The development of a technology for determining the cannabinoids in the fresh mass of the plants directly in the field and a mechanical, field-compatible harvesting system is therefore absolutely necessary.

PLANT TECHNOLOGY & DRYING

Delicate products such as hemp flowers require a gentle drying process in order to achieve a particularly high product quality. Central to this are the GMP standards, which the dried flowers must meet. This requires the development of suitable drying processes, refrigerants, control systems for flexible adaptation of the drying process and GMP-compliant quick test processes to control the processing processes.

ANALYTICS & MEASUREMENT TECHNOLOGY

It is believed that other ingredients in cannabis other than those known or postulated to be effective contribute to increased potency. In breeding, the selection of further and promising genetics is currently only carried out on the basis of the analytically determined phytocannabinoid content. Any valuable new varieties will be lost. However, the active ingredient gain can be maximized through new analysis methods.

DATA TECHNOLOGY

For GMP-compliant documentation and the data integrity required in these approaches, it is necessary to validate the software used during drug production. Current data software programs must be developed in such a way that they meet the requirements for a GMP-compliant computer system and the requirements relating to the cannabis life cycle.

ENDAPPLIKATIONEN & ZERTIFIZIERUNGEN

Quality assurance is the top priority in pharmaceutical production. To do this, standardized specifications for the raw materials required for processing must be drawn up and the existing GMP requirements must be complied with. In order to avoid potential problems in the process from cultivation to the final drug product, risks must be identified and evaluated using a well-founded approach, and possible solutions identified and validated.

©2019 CANNABIS-NET

DAS NETZWERK

Ziel von CANNABIS-NET ist, die Grundlagen für die Erzeugung von Cannabis in Deutschland zu schaffen, um den inländischen Bedarf zu decken, aber auch die Exportkraft auszubauen. Wir entwickeln in Kooperations- und Einzelprojekten innovative Methoden und Produkte entlang der gesamten Cannabis-Wertschöpfungskette.

CANNABISGENETIKEN

ANBAU-, ERNTE- UND AUFBEREITUNGSTECHNOLOGIEN

EXTRAKTIONS- UND ANALYSEVERFAHREN

ENDPRODUKTE AUS CANNABIS

UNSER ANSATZ

FORSCHUNGSPOTENZIALE

Lange war der Anbau von Cannabis in Deutschland und in vielen anderen europäischen Ländern verboten. Dadurch wurde auch das medizinische Potential von Cannabis über Jahrzehnte vernachlässigt und nicht erforscht. Seit der Legalisierung in 2017 steigt in Deutschland die Nachfrage nach Cannabisprodukten stetig an. CANNABIS-NET leistet einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Schließung dieser Forschungslücke.

clear%2520glass%2520jar%2520filled%2520with%2520kush_edited_edited.jpg
Pharmacist%20%20in%20aisle%20of%20Pharmacy_edited.jpg

MEDIZINISCHE STANDARDS

Als Naturprodukt unterliegt Cannabis natürlichen Schwankungen, d.h. die Konzentration der einzelnen Wirkstoffe kann von Pflanze zu Pflanze variieren. Grundlegend für die Produktion von Arzneimitteln mit Cannabis ist aber eine einheitliche, hohe Qualität. Deshalb bedarf es Standardisierungsmaßnahmen auf allen Stufen der Herstellung, die sich an etablierten Richtlinien wie GMP (Good Manufacturing Practice) orientieren. Im Rahmen aller Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte des Netzwerks werden so sämtliche pharmezeutischen Vorgaben eingehalten.

MARKTKRAFT

Im Netzwerk steht die Verbindung einzelner Partner im Vordergrund: Die Partnerunternehmen erhalten Zugang zu einem exklusiven Kreis an Unternehmen, die mit Medizinalcannabis arbeiten. Neue Synergien entstehen, der Austausch wird intensiviert und es bieten sich einmalige Chancen zur gemeinschaftlichen Entwicklung neuer Technologien. So können sich die Unternehmen im rasch entwickelnden Markt einen Wettbewerbsvorteil sichern.

18HRCannabis_026_edited_edited.jpg
low-angle%20photography%20of%20metal%20structure_edited.jpg

INTERNATIONAL & SYNERGETISCH

Das Netzwerk setzt sich aus deutschen Unternehmen, die die komplette Wertschöpfungskette Cannabis abbilden, zusammen. Als internationales Netzwerk besteht CANNABIS-NET zudem aus kanadischen Unternehmen, die von einer besseren Vernetzung im deutschen Markt sowie der Expertise der deutschen Firmen hinsichtlich existierender Standards im Medizinalbereich profitieren. Durch die Einbindung eines im Medizinalhanf führenden Landes wie Kanada kann eine hohe Innovationskraft und Kompetenz im Netzwerk gesichert werden.

SCHWERPUNKTE

ZUCHT & ANBAU

Auf Grund des jahrzehntelangen Anbauverbots in Deutschland gibt es kaum Wissen um den Freilandanbau von Cannabis. Faktoren wie Standort, Sorte, geographische Herkunft und die auf dem Feld herrschenden Wachstumsbedingungen beeinflussen die enthaltenen Cannabinoide. Genetiken mit hohen Phytocannabinoid-Gehalten existieren bisher nicht und müssen durch gezielte Züchtungen etabliert werden. Auch müssen Anbaubedingungen optimiert werden, z.B. auch in Form von Beleuchtungssystemen für den Indoorbereich.

MASCHINENBAU & ERNTETECHNIK

Für den großflächigen Freilandanbau sind die bisher gängigen Ernteverfahren per Hand zu zeit- und kostenaufwändig. Außerdem steht für Medizinalhanf, bei dem qualitätsrelevante Eigenschaften wie die Phytocannabinoid-Gehalte bei der Ernte geprüft werden müssen, noch keine umfassende Methodik zur Messung zur Verfügung. Die Entwicklung einer Technologie zur Bestimmung der Cannabinoide in der Frischmasse der Pflanzen direkt im Feld  und eines maschinellen, feldtauglichen Erntesystems ist daher unbedingt erforderlich.

ANLAGENTECHNIK & TROCKNUNG

Empfindliche Produkte wie Hanfblüten erfordern einen schonenden Trocknungsprozess, um eine besonders hohe Produktqualität zu erzielen. Zentral dafür sind die GMP Standards, denen die getrockneten Blüten entsprechen müssen. Das erfordert die Entwicklung von geeigneten Trocknungsverfahren, Kältemittel, Steuuerungssystemen zur flexiblen Anpassung der Trocknung und und GMP-konformen Schnelltestverfahren zur Kontrolle der Verarbeitungsprozesse.

ANALYTIK & MESSTECHNIK

Es wird angenommen, dass in Cannabis außer bekannten oder als wirksam postulierten Inhaltsstoffen weitere Bestandteile zu einer verstärken Wirksamkeit beitragen. In der Züchtung wird die Auswahl weiterzuführender und vielversprechender Genetiken derzeit allerdings nur aufgrund der analytisch bestimmten Phytocannabinoid-Gehalte durchgeführt. So gehen eventuelle wertvolle Neuzüchtungen verloren. Durch neue Analysemethoden lässt sich der Wirkstoffgewinn jedoch maximieren.

DATENTECHNOLOGIE

Für eine GMP-konforme Dokumentation und die in diesen Ansätzen geforderte Datenintegrität ist es erforderlich, die während der Arzneimittelproduktion verwendete Software zu validieren. Gängige Datensoftwareprogramme müssen so weiterentwickelt werden, dass sie den Anforderungen an ein GMP-konformes Computersystem und den Anforderungen in Bezug auf den Cannabis-LifeCycle entsprechen.

ENDAPPLIKATIONEN & ZERTIFIZIERUNGEN

In der Arzneimittelproduktion steht die Qualitätssicherung an oberster Stelle. Dazu müssen standardisierte Spezifikationen für die zur Verarbeitung benötigen Rohmaterialien erstellt und die bestehenden GMP-Anforderungen eingehalten werden. Um mögliche Probleme im Prozess vom Anbau bis zum finalen drug product zu vermeiden, müssen mit Hilfe eines fundierten Ansatzes Risiken identifiziert, bewertet und mögliche Lösungsansätze aufgezeigt und validiert werden.

©2019 CANNABIS-NET