CANADA AS A PARTNER COUNTRY

International Network Partner & Coordination

CANADA'S PIONEERING ROLE

The global legal cannabis business has so far been primarily a Canadian business. Eight of the ten largest cannabis producers worldwide come from Canada. In international competition, they are way ahead of the competition, since Canada released cannabis for medical use in 2001 and legalized it as a luxury food in 2018. As the need for cannabis continues to grow in Germany and so far cannot be covered by our own cultivation, we still have to rely on international imports, most of which currently come from Canada.

Canadian%20flag_edited.jpg
Image by Matteo Paganelli

EXPERTISE & EXPERIENCE

In the long term, the intention is to cover the demand from domestic cultivation, which is coordinated by the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (BfArM) in Germany. The German network partners can influence this development with their new technologies. As part of the network, they also benefit from the existing knowledge of the Canadian partners in cannabis cultivation, processing and production of possible end products. Canadian companies are also opening up through newly emerging corporate partnerships, additional sales markets for cannabis produced in Germany and access to the products and technologies obtained from them.

INTERNATIONAL NETWORK COORDINATION

As the Canadian government's largest science and research organization, the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) aims to connect research and industry. Similar to the ZIM, there is a similar program in Germany, the Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP), which offers innovation funding for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). In addition to advice and contacts, there is also a possibility of financial support for Canadian SMEs. As a coordinating international organization for CANNABIS-NET, NRC IRAP is committed to improving the long-term competitiveness of companies in Canada.

nrc_edited.jpg

THE CANADIAN NETWORK MEMBERS

EMERALD HEALTH THERAPEUTICS

Emerald Health Therapeutics is a Canadian producer of cannabis seeds and products. With decades of experience in drug development and extensive agricultural expertise, Emerald has set itself the task of creating new consumer experiences with cannabis products for the leisure and wellness sector. Emerald focuses on innovation and excellent production and has built a platform with different resources to serve the Canadian market and international opportunities in a unique way.

©2019 CANNABIS-NET

KANADA ALS PARTNERLAND

Internationale Netzwerkpartner & Koordination

VORREITERROLLE KANADAS

Das globale legale Cannabis-Geschäft ist bislang in erster Linie ein kanadisches Geschäft. Acht der zehn größten Cannabisproduzenten weltweit stammen aus Kanada. Im internationalen Wettbewerb sind sie der Konkurrenz weit voraus, da Kanada bereits 2001 Cannabis für den medizinischen Gebrauch freigegeben und 2018 auch als Genussmittel legalisiert hat. Da der Bedarf an Cannabis in Deutschland weiter wächst und bisher nicht aus eigenem Anbau gedeckt werden kann, ist man noch auf internationale Importe, die aktuell größtenteils aus Kanada stammen, angewiesen.

Canadian%20flag_edited.jpg
Image by Matteo Paganelli

EXPERTISE & ERFAHRUNG

Langfristig wird beabsichtigt, den Bedarf aus inländischem Anbau zu decken, was durch das Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte (BfArM) in Deutschland koordiniert wird. Diese Entwicklung können die deutschen Netzwerkpartner mithilfe ihrer neuen Technologien beeinflussen. Im Rahmen des Netzwerks profitieren sie außerdem vom vorhandenen Wissen der kanadischen Partner im Cannabisanbau, der Weiterverarbeitung und Herstellung möglicher Endprodukte. Auch den kanadischen Firmen öffnen sich durch neu entstehende Unternehmenskooperationen, weitere Absatzmärkte für in Deutschland produziertes Cannabis und Zugang zu den hieraus gewonnen Produkten und Technologien.

INTERNATIONALE NETZWERKKOORDINATION

Als größte Wissenschafts- und Forschungsorganisation der kanadischen Regierung hat der National Research Council of Canada (NRC) das Ziel, die Verknüpfung von Forschung und Industrie herzustellen. Dabei gibt es analog zum ZIM in Deutschland ein ähnliches Programm, das Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC IRAP), das Innovationsförderung für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) bietet. Neben Beratung und Kontaktvermittlungen besteht auch eine Möglichkeit der finanziellen Förderung für kanadische KMUs. Als koordinierende internationale Organisation für CANNABIS-NET setzt sich NRC IRAP dafür ein, die langfristige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Unternehmen in Kanada zu verbessern.

nrc_edited.jpg

DIE KANADISCHEN NETZWERKMITGLIEDER

EMERALD HEALTH THERAPEUTICS

Emerald Health Therapeutics ist ein kanadischer Produzent von Cannabis-Saatgut und -produkten. Mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung in der Arzneimittelentwicklung und mit großem landwirtschaftlichen Know-How hat Emerald es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, neue Verbrauchererlebnisse mit Cannabisprodukten für den Freizeit- und Wellnessbereich zu schaffen. Emerald konzentriert sich auf Innovation und exzellente Produktion und hat eine Plattform mit unterschiedlichen Betriebsmitteln aufgebaut, um den kanadischen Markt und die internationalen Möglichkeiten auf einzigartige Weise zu bedienen.

©2019 CANNABIS-NET